Skip to content
Phoenix Atlas™
Skip entry navigation

A027 · Evidence and sources

Speech and language

Open Betavalidation is being completed by subject matter experts
← Return to the approachFeedback ↗

Evidence and sources

Question and scope

Which specified communication purpose is being addressed, by which approach, for which population and outcome? A027 is a complete overview and route guide with bounded named profiles. It does not assert complete coverage of every intervention delivered by speech and language therapists.

The selected corpus contains 16 source records and one attached corrigendum. Three records report randomised comparative trials (NELI, the conjunction study, Nuffield Dyspraxia Programme, third edition (NDP3)/Rapid Syllable Transition Treatment (ReST)); the Palin 2009 allocation series has a different small-sample design. Protocols, programme pages, experience studies and related reports are not extra efficacy replications. This is targeted research, not a systematic review, formal certainty grade or claim of exhaustive current coverage.

What the evidence permits

Keep oral-language learning, a particular grammatical target, speech production, stammering experience and communication access as separate questions. Do not infer a complete protocol from a professional label or a shared teaching ingredient. The language/grammar results concern defined packages and targets; the motor comparison concerns intensive clinic delivery; the Palin sources have limited comparative or abstract-only access. Colourful Semantics remains guidance-only in this corpus.

Results should be read against the actual alternative and support received. A programme may improve a measured target without establishing everyday participation. A parent account can reveal access barriers without measuring treatment effects or supplying the child's preference. Young people’s own accounts provide another kind of evidence; they do not create a Phoenix consultation or universal view.

Shared evidence profile fields

  • Identity and version: Name the component or programme, its edition or protocol where relevant, and the purpose being evaluated.
  • Source role: Separate direct comparative evidence, descriptive implementation findings, guidance, theoretical support and firsthand experience.
  • Population and setting: Retain the studied age, communication/access characteristics and setting. State when an intended application lies outside them.
  • Intended and actual delivery: Record the planned components and dose separately from what was received, by whom, and with what support or interruptions.
  • Comparison and other support: Name the actual comparison and concurrent changes. If there is no comparison group or it is unreported, say so rather than supply an assumed usual-care condition.
  • Outcome and reporter: Record the outcome, time point and reporter. Keep the young person’s account separate from proxy judgement, and access or participation separate from task performance.
  • Fidelity and adaptation: Record whether the core components were delivered and describe adaptations; distinguish an adapted application from the protocol tested.
  • Burden and unwanted effects: Record time, effort, practical access, cost or workload where known, alongside refusal, fatigue, distress, restriction and other unwanted consequences. Unreported burden is not evidence of no burden.

Source-level appraisal

Each record below states what was actually accessible. Unreported receipt, fidelity, unwanted effects or experience remains unknown. Source roles and limits are part of the judgement, not optional footnotes to a positive finding.

G01 — Speech and language therapy

  • Identity and version: Assessment and support for communication and eating, drinking and swallowing; collaborative professional practice.
  • Source role: Professional scope guidance; not effectiveness evidence. Access: Full public scope page read.
  • Population and setting: People using speech and language therapy (SLT) services across settings; no sampled cohort.
  • Intended and actual delivery: Service functions, not a specified intervention dose.
  • Comparison and other support: None.
  • Outcome and reporter: No measured outcomes adopted.
  • Fidelity and adaptation: No adherence data.
  • Burden and unwanted effects: No recipient burden estimate.

Decision and limits: Do not infer one treatment effect or one delivery model from professional scope. G01

G02 — Speech sound disorders — overview

  • Identity and version: Distinguishes articulation, phonological and other speech disorders; assessed pattern informs selection.
  • Source role: Clinical practice guidance, not a comparative trial. Access: Public full HTML accessible; multilingual development, types, assessment and therapy sections read.
  • Population and setting: Children with speech-sound concerns; no sampled cohort.
  • Intended and actual delivery: Specialist planning with defined supported practice; dose depends on approach.
  • Comparison and other support: None.
  • Outcome and reporter: No broad efficacy estimate imported.
  • Fidelity and adaptation: Not measured.
  • Burden and unwanted effects: Guidance recognises attendance/home-practice constraints and augmentative and alternative communication (AAC) alongside speech intervention.

Decision and limits: No universal readiness or attention gate adopted. Languages, dialect and context matter; this is not a diagnostic checklist. G02

G03 — Working with interpreters and translators

  • Identity and version: Planned professional language access, distinct from assuming English-only assessment is sufficient.
  • Source role: Professional practice guidance; no legal or efficacy conclusion drawn. Access: Publicly returned HTML; clinical language access, interpreter selection and translated-assessment passages inspected.
  • Population and setting: Multilingual service contexts; no sampled cohort.
  • Intended and actual delivery: Consider language, modality and complexity; translation can affect assessment validity.
  • Comparison and other support: None.
  • Outcome and reporter: No measured improvement established.
  • Fidelity and adaptation: Not measured.
  • Burden and unwanted effects: Interpreter planning and accessible explanations require time and resources; no cost estimate.

Decision and limits: Guidance is not proof of programme adaptation equivalence. Family views and clinical interpretation remain different roles. G03

G04 — Spanish-Speaking Mothers’ Experiences of School-Based Speech Therapy

  • Identity and version: Experience of varied school speech/language services during the pandemic, not one programme.
  • Source role: Original qualitative parent experience study; not treatment evaluation. Access: Original 19-page PDF on author institution website; abstract, recruitment, analysis, results and selected discussion read.
  • Population and setting: Five Spanish-speaking mothers of bilingual children in New Mexico public-school services; four recruited through another study.
  • Intended and actual delivery: Spanish Zoom interviews, 45–60 minutes; English translations analysed using interpretative phenomenological analysis (IPA).
  • Comparison and other support: None.
  • Outcome and reporter: Accounts of access/language barriers, family involvement and stress. Perceived child benefits are parent reports.
  • Fidelity and adaptation: Researchers reviewed translations/themes; no member checking.
  • Burden and unwanted effects: Practical and language barriers described; no prevalence estimate.

Decision and limits: Small selected US sample; not UK service evidence or direct child voice. Does not prove bilingual comparative efficacy. G04

G05 — “It depends on who I’m with”: How young people with developmental language disorder describe their experiences of language and communication in school

  • Identity and version: School communication experiences; not a named therapy evaluation.
  • Source role: Original direct young-person qualitative experience; no intervention comparison. Access: Original 14-page repository PDF; methods, results/context and limitations read.
  • Population and setting: 23 Swedish young people with developmental language disorder (DLD), ages 13–19, mainstream schools; recruitment through health district/social media.
  • Intended and actual delivery: Zoom interviews 14–45 minutes; six chose parent presence; reflexive thematic analysis.
  • Comparison and other support: None.
  • Outcome and reporter: Accounts of being misunderstood and of communication varying with people and context; some adaptations felt infantilising.
  • Fidelity and adaptation: Reflexive analysis; interviewer style influenced material.
  • Burden and unwanted effects: Not a programme burden measure.

Decision and limits: Participants could provide transcribable spoken accounts. Interviews skewed toward difficulty; no universal recipient view or efficacy inference. G05

L01 — NELI Timetable

  • Identity and version: NELI delivery timetable; distinguish Reception intervention from preschool, whole-class and screening products.
  • Source role: Programme delivery guidance; no efficacy study. Access: Full provider page opened; timetable illustration not separately inspected.
  • Population and setting: Children receiving NELI; no sampled cohort.
  • Intended and actual delivery: Each child: three 30-minute small-group sessions and two 15-minute individual sessions weekly. This is intended scheduling, not attendance.
  • Comparison and other support: None.
  • Outcome and reporter: No measured outcomes.
  • Fidelity and adaptation: No observed fidelity data.
  • Burden and unwanted effects: Requires both group and individual adult time; preparation and displaced activities are not quantified.

Decision and limits: Not proof of complete course delivery or effects. Current provider schedule does not certify equivalence to the 2018 trial materials. L01

L02 — Early language screening and intervention can be delivered successfully at scale: evidence from a cluster randomized controlled trial

  • Identity and version: The 20-week NELI programme published in 2018, evaluated in West et al. (2021): vocabulary, narrative/listening; later phoneme/letter teaching.
  • Source role: Cluster randomised controlled trial (RCT); programme/distribution interests disclosed. Access: Full publisher article and linked corrigendum opened; methods/results/limits checked.
  • Population and setting: 193 schools; 1,173 classroom-relative low-language Reception pupils selected; mean 53.31 months. Severe screening-access barriers excluded.
  • Intended and actual delivery: Planned 57×30-minute groups, 37×15-minute individual sessions; trained teaching assistants (TAs), 2.5 training days and support.
  • Comparison and other support: Usual school provision.
  • Outcome and reporter: Immediate masked language composite d=.26; school-administered composite d=.32. Word reading advantage small; sentence-recall contrast inconclusive.
  • Fidelity and adaptation: Logs missing 20%; recorded means 46.42 group/23.49 individual. Accuracy questioned; denominators 56/36 conflict with planned 57/37.
  • Burden and unwanted effects: Recipient experience/harms not established.

Decision and limits: Not broad literacy/participation evidence. Narrative incompletely measured; receipt selection and missing data matter. L02

The linked 2023 corrigendum clarifies independent allocation/evaluation credit and states outcomes were unchanged. It is attached to this trial record, not counted as another study. Correction.

L03 — Teaching grammar to school-aged children with Specific Language Impairment using Shape Coding

  • Identity and version: Shapes encode phrase structure; colours word classes; arrows morphology. Later notes change verb/preposition colours.
  • Source role: Developer account and small original studies. Access: Original accepted manuscript on developer website; targeted methods/results, representation description and annotations read.
  • Population and setting: Specialist-school pupils: three dative cases, two overlapping comparative-question cases; nine pupils aged 11–13 in past-tense class study.
  • Intended and actual delivery: Past tense: one-hour weekly class lesson for one term; two pupils then received six additional 30-minute paired sessions.
  • Comparison and other support: Case baselines; past-tense study lacked concurrent control.
  • Outcome and reporter: Dative nonresponse occurred. Whole-class past-tense change was nonsignificant, p=.18; favourable reanalyses exclude a pupil or substitute post-extra-treatment scores.
  • Fidelity and adaptation: No independent fidelity estimate extracted.
  • Burden and unwanted effects: Extra sessions and complexity matter; recipient accounts/harms unmeasured.

Decision and limits: Historical conventions; overlapping cases are not independent replications. Current editions not verified. L03

L04 — Improving comprehension in adolescents with severe receptive language impairments: a randomized control trial of intervention for coordinating conjunctions

  • Identity and version: SHAPE CODING applied to comprehension of three coordinating conjunctions.
  • Source role: Small masked-assessor randomised delayed-treatment trial. Access: Full original publisher article; methods, outcomes, exclusions and limits read.
  • Population and setting: 14 adolescents, ages 11;3–16;1, severe receptive/expressive impairments; one UK specialist residential school.
  • Intended and actual delivery: Eight weekly 30-minute individual SLT sessions; six completed all programme steps.
  • Comparison and other support: Normal SLT targeting other areas; extensive school co-support continued.
  • Outcome and reporter: Phase-1 conjunction advantage d=1.64,p=.02; Test for Reception of Grammar (TROG) standard-score contrast positive, raw-score contrast p=.06; passives p=.12. Follow-up target maintenance reported.
  • Fidelity and adaptation: Questionnaires/case notes, indirect. One shorter-dose child excluded throughout; another withdrawal excluded in phase 2.
  • Burden and unwanted effects: Listening/attention needs shortened one dose to 2h40. Recipient satisfaction/harms unmeasured.

Decision and limits: Completer-based: 13 phase-1, 12 full-data participants. No broad-literacy effect; component mechanism untested; developer interests. L04

L05 — Colourful Semantics

  • Identity and version: Alison Bryan’s sentence-building approach: colour-coded semantic-role/question prompts. The displayed who/doing/what/where cues are not SHAPE CODING word-class conventions.
  • Source role: Official service identity/delivery guidance; not original efficacy research. Access: Full substantive NHS service page opened.
  • Population and setting: Children needing vocabulary and sentence-construction support; no evaluated sample.
  • Intended and actual delivery: Gradual sentence-building, individual or small-group activities; no fixed dose, training specification or attendance data.
  • Comparison and other support: None.
  • Outcome and reporter: The page lists intended benefits; no measured effect estimate adopted.
  • Fidelity and adaptation: Not reported; book/app versions unspecified.
  • Burden and unwanted effects: Preparation, workload and child experience unmeasured.

Decision and limits: No trial was verified in this bounded corpus. Guidance does not establish comparative effectiveness, broad grammar coverage or independent expressive AAC. L05

M01 — Chapter 4: Introduction to the Nuffield therapy approach and treatment planning

  • Identity and version: NDP3: graded speech production from sounds toward connected speech, with phonological contrasts. Speech motor planning and phonological components are distinct from generic language teaching.
  • Source role: Developer protocol identity, not an outcome study. Access: All three official sample pages read; not the complete manual. No redistribution of the sample PDF.
  • Population and setting: Materials principally for ages 3–7 with severe speech difficulties, particularly motor planning/programming; broader adaptations are described, not established by this excerpt.
  • Intended and actual delivery: Repeated practice, cues, feedback and sequencing with individually chosen targets. Symbol pictures make speech structure explicit. No fixed clinical dose verified from these pages.
  • Comparison and other support: None
  • Outcome and reporter: Aims only; no measured benefit or participant outcome
  • Fidelity and adaptation: Flexible individual planning described; no fidelity data
  • Burden and unwanted effects: Repeated practice and specialist target selection; practical cost, fatigue and acceptability unmeasured

Decision and limits: Do not infer efficacy for all speech-sound disorders, nonspeech exercises or all listed adaptations. Pictures are nested production cues, not automatically expressive AAC. M01

M02 — A comparison of two treatments for childhood apraxia of speech: methods and treatment protocol for a parallel group randomised control trial

  • Identity and version: Operationalised NDP3 uses graded real/pictured targets. ReST uses multisyllabic pseudowords targeting sounds, transitions and stress, with distinct training/practice phases and feedback schedules.
  • Source role: Prospective protocol for M03; planned methods, not results. Access: Open publisher full text; intervention, eligibility, fidelity and outcome sections read. PMC route returned CAPTCHA.
  • Population and setting: Planned Australian-English-speaking children aged 4–12 with suspected childhood apraxia of speech (CAS), age-appropriate comprehension, adjusted-normal hearing/vision and no other developmental/genetic diagnosis.
  • Intended and actual delivery: Planned 12 one-hour sessions over three weeks; 100–120 productions/session. NDP3 immediate feedback versus ReST reduced/delayed practice feedback. Nonspeech oral-motor goals excluded.
  • Comparison and other support: Active programme comparison; home practice withheld during data collection. Four-month assessment planned after usual speech therapy resumed.
  • Outcome and reporter: Planned articulation/prosody, inconsistency and generalisation measures; no completed outcomes here
  • Fidelity and adaptation: Planned 10% session checks with 85% agreement threshold; not observed achievement
  • Burden and unwanted effects: Intensive visits, repeated productions and lengthy assessment; no measured recipient acceptability

Decision and limits: Do not convert planned eligibility, fidelity or received co-supports into verified M03 facts. Historical 'no RCT' statement is superseded. M02

M03 — A Randomized Controlled Trial for Children With Childhood Apraxia of Speech Comparing Rapid Syllable Transition Treatment and the Nuffield Dyspraxia Programme–Third Edition

  • Identity and version: NDP3 and ReST are distinct motor-speech protocols, not aliases; types/complexity of stimuli and motor-learning principles differ.
  • Source role: Original active-comparison group randomised trial; abstract-limited appraisal. Access: Original publisher and PubMed abstracts plus metadata; publisher explicitly marks full text No access. Full results tables not retrieved.
  • Population and setting: 26 children, ages 4–12, mild–severe CAS, Australian university clinic
  • Intended and actual delivery: Reported one-hour sessions, four days/week for three weeks, by trained and supervised speech-language pathology students. Individual received-session/production counts unavailable.
  • Comparison and other support: NDP3 versus ReST; no untreated or usual-care arm
  • Outcome and reporter: Blinded independent assessment before treatment and 1 week, 1 month, 4 months later. Authors report treatment gains/generalisation in both groups and better maintenance with ReST. Numeric effects, intervals and detailed null comparisons unverified.
  • Fidelity and adaptation: Supervision reported; actual adherence figures unavailable in abstract
  • Burden and unwanted effects: Intensive clinic attendance; recipient experience and adverse-effect findings unavailable

Decision and limits: Do not turn the abstract conclusion into universal superiority or an overall evidence grade. No demonstrated participation/wellbeing outcome or low-frequency routine-service equivalence. M03

M04 — Parent-child interaction therapy: Adding to the evidence

  • Identity and version: Palin Parent–Child Interaction therapy (PCI); all analysed treated children received interaction/family strategies, not direct fluency strategies.
  • Source role: Random-allocation single-subject series, not a large parallel-group efficacy trial. Access: Public original-paper PDF on speech-service site; methods, results and limitations read. Publisher full-text opening failed; PDF screenshot attempt failed.
  • Population and setting: Six treated/four waiting-list completers, ages 3;7–4;11; English primary home language; specialist UK centre. Recruitment totals inconsistent.
  • Intended and actual delivery: Six weekly hour-long clinic sessions, six-week home consolidation; five-minute parent playtimes, feedback/reviews. Outcome follow-up ended six months post-clinic.
  • Comparison and other support: Waiting list; minimisation balanced sex/family history, but waiting-list allocation ceased partway
  • Outcome and reporter: Four treated children improved during therapy; two only later, not attributable to therapy by authors. One control improved. Temporary increases occurred. Parent-rated child impact is proxy evidence; parent confidence is their own report. Neither is child testimony.
  • Fidelity and adaptation: Specialist developers delivered therapy; integrity asserted, not independently quantified adherence
  • Burden and unwanted effects: Eight withdrawals reported, including therapy-plus-recording demands; four continued therapy outside research. Transient worsening not a causal harm estimate.

Decision and limits: p65 reports 14 starters, 10 completers and eight withdrawals; p72 repeats eight. Do not compute attrition percentage. Parent scale validity/reliability unestablished; no general population estimate. M04

M05 — Palin Parent–Child Interaction Therapy: The Bigger Picture

  • Identity and version: Palin PCI, referenced to the 2008 manual; not generic parent advice or current-school-age Palin Stammering Therapy for School Children (STSC)
  • Source role: Longitudinal cohort outcome study; no concurrent comparison group described. Access: Original publisher/PubMed abstract and metadata only; publisher No access; full methods unavailable
  • Population and setting: Young children who stutter and parents. Primary abstract omits sample size/ages; developer page's 55-child description is not a recovered methods denominator.
  • Intended and actual delivery: Course receipt mentioned; individual dose, additional therapy and adherence not reported in accessed abstract
  • Comparison and other support: Change over time; no untreated comparison established
  • Outcome and reporter: At 3 months: communication attitude, parent knowledge/confidence and mothers' ratings improved; at 6 months: stuttering frequency and fathers' ratings improved. Improvements reported through 12 months. Other response-group variables showed no differences.
  • Fidelity and adaptation: Not available in abstract
  • Burden and unwanted effects: Unwanted effects, workload and attrition unavailable

Decision and limits: Separate child attitude from parent perceptions and fluency frequency. Associations cannot establish causality, mediation or a guaranteed participation/anxiety benefit. M05

M06 — Therapy for under 7s — Palin Parent-Child Interaction Therapy

  • Identity and version: Palin PCI aims include communication confidence whether stammering continues, fluency, reduced impact and open attitudes. Parents are not blamed for causing stammering.
  • Source role: Current programme identity, aims and service arrangements; provider effectiveness claims not independent evidence. Access: Detailed indexed developer-page text returned through web search; three direct URL openings failed. Treat as indexed page access, not successful live-page opening.
  • Population and setting: Under-seven service route; access/funding arrangements specific to the Centre
  • Intended and actual delivery: Six weekly one-hour sessions, six-week independent period, review/follow-up and further sessions as needed. Video-supported parent decisions; five-minute home playtimes; both parents where applicable.
  • Comparison and other support: None
  • Outcome and reporter: Programme aims and developer evidence summary, not newly collected study outcomes
  • Fidelity and adaptation: Individual tailoring described; no observed adherence data
  • Burden and unwanted effects: Attendance, home practice including siblings, reading/reflection; discuss barriers. Remote sessions require private space; local funding/private routes differ.

Decision and limits: Neutral language distinguishes stammering from bad speech. Confidence does not require fluency. Current delivery cannot be assumed identical to each historical study or all services. M06

Programme boundaries and unresolved quantities

NELI: The source's intended 57/37 group/individual totals differ from the 56/36 denominators used for receipt percentages. Preserve that discrepancy. Do not silently repair the uncertain printed confidence-interval decimal; the profile uses the supported point estimate only. Current timetables do not certify the trial version.

SHAPE CODING: Historical target studies and later conjunction work are separate reports. Overlapping cases are not independent replications. Preserve the past-tense whole-class null before post-hoc exclusions/additional therapy; the later trial's dose-related exclusion means its headline effect is not an all-randomised-child estimate. Colourful Semantics needs its own original evidence review.

NDP3/ReST: M02 is a plan for M03. It provides a defensible protocol distinction, but actual receipt, fidelity and long-term co-support must be checked in the complete outcome report. The protocol scheduled the four-month assessment after resumption of usual therapy; the accessed outcome abstract does not verify individual co-support. Do not attribute all later maintenance to the experimental phase alone.

Palin PCI: The 2009 source's recruitment arithmetic is inconsistent; retain its reported facts without calculating an attrition percentage. Delayed improvement and untreated improvement limit causal attribution. An absence of detailed harms in the 2018 abstract is an access gap. The current programme page supplies aims and arrangements, not independent evidence of their achievement.

Practical inference and recipient access

For a proposed application, record the desired message/activity, assessed target, chosen version, feasible staffing, actual practice and accessible review method. Record home language, interpretation and translated-test limits; English-language change does not establish another language's outcome. Ask about transport, family and sibling time, comfort with observation/video, fatigue, missed lessons and the option to pause. These are Phoenix review questions; do not label them all measured study harms.

Keep partner and environmental changes explicit. A speech cue, a displayed sequence and an expressive AAC resource can use pictures while doing different jobs. Direct teaching and communication access may coexist. Language difficulty does not justify withholding choice, inferring low understanding from speech clarity, or using fluent speech as the condition for participation.

Source notes

  1. G01.

    Royal College of Speech and Language Therapists. Undated; accessed 12 September 2026. Speech and language therapy. Locators: Opening explanation; What do speech and language therapists do?; settings and collaboration.

    ↩1
  2. G02.

    Royal College of Speech and Language Therapists (RCSLT). Updated 2024; accessed 12 September 2026. Speech sound disorders — overview. Locators: Speech development in languages other than English; What is SSD?; first appointment; therapy; next steps.

    ↩1
  3. G03.

    RCSLT. Updated September 2026; accessed 12 September 2026. Working with interpreters and translators. Locators: Overview; when to work with an interpreter; selection; translated assessment and linguistic context.

    ↩1
  4. G04.

    Carlos D. Irizarry-Pérez; Lindsey M. Bell; Monique N. Rodriguez; Vanessa Viramontes. 2024; DOI 10.1044/2024_LSHSS-23-00043. Spanish-Speaking Mothers’ Experiences of School-Based Speech Therapy. Locators: PDF pp4–7 methods and themes; pp11–13 family/pandemic accounts.

    ↩1
  5. G05.

    Anna Ekström; Olof Sandgren; Birgitta Sahlén; Christina Samuelsson. 2023; DOI 10.1111/1460-6984.12850. “It depends on who I’m with”: How young people with developmental language disorder describe their experiences of language and communication in school. Locators: PDF pp4–5 methods; pp9–10 context; p12 limitations.

    ↩1
  6. L01.

    OxEd & Assessment. Undated; accessed 12 September 2026. NELI Timetable. Locators: NELI Timetable: opening paragraph; assessment/timetable note.

    ↩1
  7. L02.

    Gillian West; Margaret J. Snowling; Arne Lervåg; Elizabeth Buchanan-Worster; Mihaela Duta; Alexandra Hall; Henrietta McLachlan; Charles Hulme. 30 March 2021 online; December 2021 issue; corrected 28 February 2023. Early language screening and intervention can be delivered successfully at scale: evidence from a cluster randomized controlled trial. Locators: Participants; NELI; Training; Results Table 1/primary/secondary/Fidelity; Limitations; Acknowledgements.

    ↩1
  8. L03.

    Susan Ebbels. 2007; date of later annotations unspecified. Teaching grammar to school-aged children with Specific Language Impairment using Shape Coding. Locators: Sections II–III, annotation SE1; V Studies 1–3, Table 5; VI discussion.

    ↩1
  9. L04.

    Susan H. Ebbels; Nataša Marić; Aoife Murphy; Gail Turner. 2014 issue; online 2013. Improving comprehension in adolescents with severe receptive language impairments: a randomized control trial of intervention for coordinating conjunctions. Locators: Methods Study design/Therapy/Attendance; Results Table 2 and phases 1–2; Limitations; Acknowledgements.

    ↩1
  10. L05.

    Just One Norfolk / Norfolk & Waveney Children and Young People’s Services. Undated; accessed 12 September 2026. Colourful Semantics. Locators: Colourful Semantics introduction; Using Colourful Semantics subheadings; How Can We Get Started?

    ↩1
  11. M01.

    Nuffield Centre Dyspraxia Programme Ltd; NDP3 manual attributed to Pamela Williams and Hilary Stephens in the trial. 2004 copyright on excerpt. Chapter 4: Introduction to the Nuffield therapy approach and treatment planning. Locators: Printed pp73–75: purpose/age range; therapy aims; speech hierarchy; symbol pictures; treatment planning

    ↩1
  12. M02.

    Elizabeth Murray; Patricia McCabe; Kirrie J. Ballard. 2012-08-03. A comparison of two treatments for childhood apraxia of speech: methods and treatment protocol for a parallel group randomised control trial. Locators: NDP3/ReST background; Participants; Intervention delivery and dosage; both Treatment procedure sections; Treatment fidelity; Outcome assessment

    ↩1
  13. M03.

    Elizabeth Murray; Patricia McCabe; Kirrie J. Ballard. 2015-06. A Randomized Controlled Trial for Children With Childhood Apraxia of Speech Comparing Rapid Syllable Transition Treatment and the Nuffield Dyspraxia Programme–Third Edition. Locators: Publisher/PubMed Abstract: Purpose, Method, Results, Conclusions; publisher access notice; preceding protocol M02

    ↩1
  14. M04.

    Sharon K. Millard; Susan Edwards; Frances M. Cook. 2009; International Journal of Speech-Language Pathology 11(1),61–76. Parent-child interaction therapy: Adding to the evidence. Locators: pp63–65 Methods/Participants/Allocation; pp67–70 outcomes; pp71–72 Limitations; Figures2–11 Original paper accessed here.

    ↩1
  15. M05.

    Sharon K. Millard; Patricia Zebrowski; Elaine Kelman. 2018-10-19; American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology 27(3S),1211–1223. Palin Parent–Child Interaction Therapy: The Bigger Picture. Locators: Abstract Methods/Results/Conclusions; start and 3/6/12-month assessment schedule; access notice

    ↩1
  16. M06.

    Michael Palin Centre for Stammering. Undated current service page; retrieved 12 September 2026. Therapy for under 7s — Palin Parent-Child Interaction Therapy. Locators: Key things to know; Main ideas; Aims; FAQs on sessions, homework, remote delivery and evidence

    ↩1
Review and source history

Open Beta v0.2 · Editorial edition · 16 September 2026

The current edition is Open Beta. Directors will onboard after Beta launch; full specialist and youth reviews are planned for Alpha. Earlier records below describe the underlying source and retain its evidence limitations.

Review and source record

Version: purpose-based working profile v0.1
Evidence reconstruction: 12 September 2026
Review status: targeted reconstruction complete; source selection, human specialist/recipient review, adoption and publication pending

Bank consistency edition: v0.1 — 13 September 2026. The version and review-status lines in this record describe the underlying document. Evidence dates and source limitations are retained; this edition makes editorial and navigation changes without new evidence grading. Human specialist/recipient review, adoption and publication remain pending. Current working article. Editorial change record (internal editorial record).

Source reconciliation and development decision

The earlier article is complete; the historical evidence fragment is not. Broad historical ratings are superseded by source-level appraisal, and its unfinished 2025 vocabulary-review claim is retained only as an unverified lead. The 2 September scope flag is a captured assistant report. Current master equivalence remains unverified.

DQ010 remains an unadmitted NDP3 discovery nomination, with a bounded subordinate profile in A027. ReST has a separate identity within the comparison. No A031+ number or new beta member is created. Current manuals, missing full reports, recipient experience and specialist interpretation still need review before adoption; other named literacy, language or social-communication programmes are not silently covered.

Complete working article · Claim and editorial ledger (internal editorial record) · Search and access register (internal editorial record) · Source history (internal editorial record)

Source notes