A016 · Evidence and sources
Executive-function scaffolding
Evidence and sources
Scope and source reconciliation
A016 covers external initiation, planning, working-memory and organisational supports in actual activities. It can overlap with explicit teaching of how to use a tool; that does not turn it into cognitive training. Neither improved organisational ratings nor a completed checklist establishes improved underlying executive-function capacity.
The complete captured article and earlier evidence profile are used as historical material. Broad benefit statements have been narrowed to the outcomes, reporters and packages actually inspected. Historical certainty labels and the earlier unnamed meta-analytic citations are not inherited. A larger later Homework, Organization, and Planning Skills (HOPS) trial is included to prevent the 2012 teacher-null finding being presented as the programme's entire evidence history.
Five material publications were retained: three organisational-package randomised controlled trials (RCTs), one working-memory-training randomised controlled trial (RCT) used as a transfer contrast, and one qualitative school-experience report. Two organisational RCTs and the training trial were inspected in public full text. The later trial and qualitative report remain abstract-limited. This is enough to revise the broad claims cautiously, not to claim an exhaustive review of all organisational supports.
This is a targeted review of the stated sources, not an exhaustive systematic review or a new certainty assessment. Source-specific access limits remain in the records below.
Source-specific evidence records
The eight fields below separate identity, design and experience. Unreported means unavailable in the opened source, not absent in the study. Full machine-readable records and access limits are retained in the source register (internal editorial record).
1. Remediating Organizational Functioning in Children With attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD): Immediate and Long-Term Effects From a Randomized Controlled Trial1
- Identity and version: Abikoff et al.; manualized Organizational Skills Training (OST) versus Parents and Teachers Helping Kids Organize (PATHKO).
- Source role: Original dual-site RCT; not a checklist-only test.
- Population and setting: US ages 8–11, grades 3–5, ADHD/organisational impairment; intelligence quotient (IQ) ≥85. Excluded all-day special education, organisation individualized education programme (IEP)/aide support and pervasive developmental disorder (PDD). 180 randomized, 22 unusable records, 158 analysed (64/61/33); mean IQ 111.
- Intended and actual delivery: 20 hour-long clinic sessions over 10–12 weeks; OST tools/practice plus parent/teacher reinforcement; attendance means 19.80/19.54.
- Comparison and other support: PATHKO performance contingencies and waiting list; 56/158 medicated at baseline.
- Outcome and reporter: Parent/teacher organisational ratings and functional outcomes, post/1-month/next school year. OST versus PATHKO advantage only parent organisational total, d=.63.
- Fidelity and adaptation: Fidelity 96.3%/95.4%; developer supervision; 15% recordings independently coded.
- Burden and unwanted effects: Biweekly parent adverse-event checks; no excess detected versus waitlist. High time burden; child acceptability unmeasured.
Access and limits: Author-uploaded full manuscript opened; methods/results/limitations inspected. Post-treatment adults were unblinded treatment agents. 22 post-randomization data exclusions; relatively advantaged sample; waitlist not retained as untreated long-term comparison group. Multiple ingredients; no inference of repaired cognitive capacity.
2. Evaluation of the Homework, Organization, and Planning Skills (HOPS) Intervention for Middle School Students with ADHD as Implemented by School Mental Health Providers2
- Identity and version: Langberg et al.; HOPS using 2011 manual.
- Source role: Original school RCT.
- Population and setting: 47 US grades 6–8 pupils with ADHD; 17 providers, five districts.
- Intended and actual delivery: 16 individual sessions, planned ≤20 min/11 weeks; actual 11–19 weeks, mean 13.8; observed sessions mean 22.5 min. Tools, teaching, checking, points and parent involvement.
- Comparison and other support: Waiting list; medication status used in randomization.
- Outcome and reporter: Post-treatment parent organisation/homework gains; teacher null. Three-month follow-up; grades lacked pretreatment baseline.
- Fidelity and adaptation: One observed session/provider; mean 91% components, checklist records 96% of sessions.
- Burden and unwanted effects: School time and monitoring/rewards; student satisfaction not measured; systematic harms not reported.
Access and limits: Public full article opened; methods/results/limitations inspected. Unblinded parent ratings; weak urban provider uptake and volunteer selection. No active attention comparison group; grade differences cannot establish change from baseline. Observation may change delivery.
3. Overcoming the research-to-practice gap: A randomized trial with two brief homework and organization interventions for students with ADHD as implemented by school mental health providers3
- Identity and version: Langberg et al.; later HOPS/Completing Homework by Improving Efficiency and Focus (CHIEF) trial.
- Source role: Original RCT, distinct from 2012 cohort.
- Population and setting: 280 US middle-school students with ADHD.
- Intended and actual delivery: School-provider sessions averaged <20 min, during electives; detailed dose/components not verified here.
- Comparison and other support: CHIEF and waiting list; co-supports not specified in abstract.
- Outcome and reporter: Parent gains for both; some teacher HOPS gains; HOPS versus CHIEF organised actions advantage, not homework. Pre/post/6-month ratings collected.
- Fidelity and adaptation: Fidelity reported in abstract; methods and adaptation unavailable.
- Burden and unwanted effects: Missed elective time; direct acceptability and harms unavailable.
Access and limits: Abstract opened; university PDF led to privacy screen. Abstract cannot locate all reported effects at specific follow-up times. No imported 2012 dose/fidelity into this trial. No exact estimates or subgroup treatment recommendations from exploratory moderation.
4. Does working memory training lead to generalized improvements in children with low working memory? A randomized controlled trial4
- Identity and version: Dunning, Holmes and Gathercole; adaptive Cogmed working-memory training.
- Source role: Original school-cluster RCT; contrast to external scaffolding.
- Population and setting: 94 English-first-language children, ages 7–9, low working-memory screens; nine northeast-England schools screened.
- Intended and actual delivery: 20–25 sessions of 30–45 min over 6 weeks; researcher-supported groups, small completion rewards.
- Comparison and other support: Non-adaptive low-load training and no intervention.
- Outcome and reporter: Blinded cognitive/academic assessments: selective memory gains, no immediate classroom-analogue or academic advantage; 12-month follow-up: selected 15 adaptive and 19 non-adaptive trainees.
- Fidelity and adaptation: Computerized progression/logs; motivational features not identical.
- Burden and unwanted effects: Considerable training time; adverse effects and direct acceptability not systematically reported.
Access and limits: Full open-access article PDF opened; methods/results/discussion read. No scaffold arm; null training transfer does not demonstrate scaffold superiority. One-year follow-up small and selected; no no-intervention group retained there. Small number of clusters and task-to-classroom transfer limits.
5. School Experiences of Adolescents With Attention-Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder5
- Identity and version: Wiener and Daniels; school experiences.
- Source role: Original qualitative interviews, not an intervention study.
- Population and setting: 12 adolescents with ADHD; exact ages and recruitment setting not verified in opened abstract.
- Intended and actual delivery: Semistructured interviews; no assigned support dose.
- Comparison and other support: No treatment comparison group.
- Outcome and reporter: Author-interpreted themes include performance difficulty, engagement and agency/independence.
- Fidelity and adaptation: Modified grounded theory; intervention fidelity not applicable.
- Burden and unwanted effects: No numerical harms data; specific tool preferences unavailable in abstract.
Access and limits: Publisher abstract and references opened; full methods unavailable. Direct interviews exist, but accessible summary mediates their voices. Do not attribute particular quotations or planner preferences. Not representative or causal evidence of scaffold benefit.
What the trial comparisons permit
A package effect cannot be assigned to a planner. OST includes tools, skills practice and home–school reinforcement. PATHKO is also active, with different assumptions about performance. Their comparison does not support a forced choice between every difficulty being a skills deficit and every difficulty being motivation. The major loss of 22 randomized records and the role of unblinded treatment agents as reporters belong beside the findings, not in a hidden methodological footnote.1
Reporter differences are substantive. HOPS 2012 produced parent gains without teacher-rated improvement; its grade comparison lacked pretreatment grades. The later trial reports some teacher gains and a narrower difference from an active alternative. Both facts can be true. The later abstract does not identify every finding's exact follow-up time, so no specific six-month maintenance claim is made here.23
Training transfer is a separate question. Dunning's study tested adaptive memory exercises, not external task organisation. Immediate task and academic transfer was limited, and the one-year comparison involved a small selected subset. This cautions against assuming broad transfer from a cognitive exercise. It does not show that scaffolding is universally superior, or that every training approach is ineffective.4
Burden, acceptability and whose account counts
The two fully inspected organisational trials did not collect child satisfaction. That gap is not filled by adult satisfaction, high attendance, recorded fidelity or improved parent ratings. Abikoff monitored parent-reported adverse behavioural events and found no excess over waiting list; this is narrower than demonstrating that children experienced no unwanted effects. HOPS monitoring and points, and the practical time needed to implement either package, are relevant ingredients for an informed decision.12
The qualitative school paper establishes that direct adolescent accounts were sought. Because only its abstract was opened, this review does not invent students' views of a particular tool. Its agency theme informs the question to ask, not a quantified benefit claim. Current person-led review should therefore ask how the support affects effort, privacy, control and access to valued activities.5
A locally useful scaffold may remain in place. The article's safeguards against abrupt removal, imposed tidiness and conditional access are editorial design requirements, not findings that a particular RCT caused dependence or coercion. A personal calendar can support independence; an adult-maintained record can still be necessary. The important distinction is whether the arrangement serves the person's task and preferences, with the remaining support honestly described.
Where the evidence may not transfer
The main intervention populations had ADHD and organisational difficulties. Broadening to other special educational needs and disabilities (SEND) populations, very young children, intellectual disability, severe communication needs or community activities requires a separate fit judgement. No diagnosis is required to try an ordinary access adjustment, but that does not make trial estimates universally transferable.
Full later-HOPS tables, co-supports, programme versions, harms and participant experience remain a follow-up. The earlier Bikic meta-analysis was found in search but substantive opening failed, so its historical numbers and grades are not counted as verified evidence here. A complete comparison of cognitive-training literature was beyond this bounded review; the one inspected trial is an example, not the whole field.
Independent editorial/source review is complete; see the separate-agent review record (internal editorial record). Human specialist and recipient review, source-version selection, adoption and publication approval remain pending. No specialist consultation is claimed. Full Encyclopaedia paired reading supports the three chosen routes; shared categories have not created blanket crosslinks.
Sources
Provenance: exact source and extraction record (internal editorial record). Article: complete working revision.
Source notes
- 1.
Remediating Organizational Functioning in Children With ADHD: Immediate and Long-Term Effects From a Randomized Controlled Trial. Online August 2012; February 2013 issue. Locator: Manuscript pp. 6–10, 12, 15–16; Sample size; Adverse Behavioral Events. Accessed 12 September 2026.
↩1 ↩2 ↩3 - 2.
Evaluation of the Homework, Organization, and Planning Skills (HOPS) Intervention for Middle School Students with ADHD as Implemented by School Mental Health Providers. September 2012. Locator: School Psychology Review pp. 350–352 and 359–361. Accessed 12 September 2026.
↩1 ↩2 ↩3 - 3.
Overcoming the research-to-practice gap: A randomized trial with two brief homework and organization interventions for students with ADHD as implemented by school mental health providers. January 2018; online November 2017. Locator: Abstract, Method and Results. Accessed 12 September 2026.
↩1 ↩2 - 4.
Does working memory training lead to generalized improvements in children with low working memory? A randomized controlled trial. 2013. Locator: PDF pp. 2–3 and 8–9; tables 3–5. Accessed 12 September 2026.
↩1 ↩2 - 5.
School Experiences of Adolescents With Attention-Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder. Online March 2015; 2016 issue. Locator: Abstract. Accessed 12 September 2026.
↩1 ↩2
Review and source history
Open Beta v0.2 · Editorial edition · 16 September 2026
The current edition is Open Beta. Directors will onboard after Beta launch; full specialist and youth reviews are planned for Alpha. Earlier records below describe the underlying source and retain its evidence limitations.
Review and source record
Date: 12 September 2026. Targeted evidence review; adoption and publication pending.
Bank consistency edition: v0.1 — 13 September 2026. The version and review-status lines in this record describe the underlying document. Evidence dates and source limitations are retained; this edition makes editorial and navigation changes without new evidence grading. Human specialist/recipient review, adoption and publication remain pending. Current working article. Editorial change record (internal editorial record).